7 States and 2775+ Miles

Hello from California. Logan has been doing a great job with the posts so far, but I figured it was time for one from me. We’ve traveled over 7 states (most of which I’ve never been) and over 2775 miles. It’s amazing to me to think that 5 days ago this whole journey started with our dog (Maggie) wondering what in the world was going on while packing for the move.

Where.jpg

All this time in the car and staying in a different place every night has started to make me a little crazy. That being said, here’s some of the funny and odd things I’ve seen so far.

Some of the national parks allow dogs, so we’ve taken Maggie with us to a few sites. She apparently doesn’t understand the dangers of cliffs and on several occasions has jumped up on the walls scaring me half to death.

imag3439

I’ve determined that one of the cliff dwellings at Bandelier National Monument needs to be my new home. The view was great, but I’m thinking it might be too cold in the winter.

IMAG3374.jpg

On our way through New Mexico I started to get a little stir-crazy in the car, so Maggie got to see how comfortable the neck pillow is. (She was clearly not amused.) Maggie has been such a trooper with all the hours traveling in the car, staying in a different hotel every night, and putting up with my shenanigans.

IMAG3317.jpg

I found some military tanks which helped pass the time while driving through the flat, dry parts of Arizona.

IMAG3534.jpg

Today we made it to the Petrified Forest National Park, where Logan decided he was the bird whisperer and was communing with the birds.

IMAG3490.jpg

Towards the end of the day, I found the longest train (10 extra points for those who play Ticket to Ride)! I swear that we kept passing the same train multiple times throughout the day. At one point I was trying to race it, only to realize that you really can’t race a train.

IMAG3481.jpg

I’m excited to begin our travel up the California coast over the next few days and making the final stretch into Portland.

3 thoughts on “7 States and 2775+ Miles

  1. John

    The camera loves Maggie, a star is born! Plus, great train shot. But Logan, didn’t you ever see the Hitchcock movie,”The Birds”? That thing was bigger than your head!

    Like

Leave a Reply

